Roof of the World

15 October, 2008 - Wednesday

Music is a huge part of my life, and has been since I was a child.  If possible, I have music playing all the time.  I’m not too choosy — I like a lot of different things, from AC/DC to Vivaldi.

I was painting this evening, while listening to one of the many playlists I have, when “Roof of the World”, by Professor and MaryAnne, (off the album Runaway Favorite ) started to play.  I’ve always loved this song, and I replayed it over and over, while I painted the image below.

A bit of the lyrics:

I’ll build you a city of shimmering lights
I’ll blur the edges for you
Exaggerate its height
I’ll shine the tops of every building
So it may come to life
As the air fills
Your eyes with the thrill
Of the moon tacked to the sky
Like a pearl
I’ll meet you on the roof of the world

ps – The image is take with a cell phone :P

Roof of the World, Acrylic on Canvas, 18x24

Roof of the World, Acrylic on Canvas, 18x24

One Response to “Roof of the World”


  1. […] My paintings reflect the song, the sounds, the music, the lyrics. I did a piece the other day (here), that was, for me, almost a literal translation of a song. To somebody looking at it, without the […]


Leave a Reply

