Day 5, Paris, September 20, 2011

3 November, 2011 - Thursday

Day 5 in Paris — I’ve eaten the BEST croissant EVER made; have finally slept well, and we headed out to see the Eiffel Tower, The Dome Church, Les Invalides, Rodin’s Museum, and then we were supposed to take a tour on the Seine River.

The Eiffel Tower is just so much bigger than you imagine.  The base of each leg is enormous.  I was just shocked at how huge it was.

[pe2-gallery class=”alignleft” ]

DSCN2918.JPG

Eiffel Tower

DSCN2919.JPG

It is so much bitter than I thought.

DSCN2938.JPG

And so much taller

IMGP1925.JPG

A whole shot

The Dome Church was just beautiful  — My pictures didn’t do it justice, so do a web search :)

DSCN2964.JPG

The Dome, of the Dome Church

DSCN2978.JPG

The tomb of Napoleon - 10x bigger than necessary.

DSCN3028.JPG

Line of Cannons

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rodin’s Museum has a lot of statuary outdoors, which was really wonderful to see.  We ended up not going inside, as we had to rush to the tour.

DSCN3042.JPG

I'm Thinking..I'm Thinking

IMGP1955.JPG

A famous signature

DSCN3053.JPG

Hell

 

 

 

 

 

 

And we were off to the tour of the Seine, which we did not end up taking.  Laurie and I are both the kind of people who grab a map, and go.  Not “Get on a tour bus with 100+ other people, to be herded like cattle, to  a tour boat with 1000+ other people“.  As we were standing in line, with the 1000+ other people at the boat dock, just about to move ourselves into the winding corral, I looked at her and muttered “If I was here by myself, I’d leave.”  She look at me and said, “Are we ditching?” I responded with “We’re ditching”.  She grinned like a little girl, and, 3 seconds later, turned and pushed her way through the crowd with “Excuse Me” coming out of her mouth every few seconds.  I just went over and under the barricades, like the good New Yorker I am. A quick escape.  We later heard from a mother & daughter who were on that exact tour, that over 1000 were on it.  They ended up sitting in the bottom of the boat, on folding chairs, one tight to another, without a view and slightly crushed.  I don’t think I was ever as relieved to pay for something I didn’t use, and so was Laurie.  We both have promised that if we go on another trip, we won’t even THINK about one of these tour..things.

Our walk to the  tour we crossed over the bridge, towards the Grand Palais and the Petit Palais.  Such beautiful statuary on the bridge.

DSCN3061.JPG

Poseidon, as a youngling

DSCN3063.JPG

Love Locks on the Frogs

DSCN3068.JPG

Sweet & Pretty

DSCN3074.JPG

HUGE doors at the Petit Palais

[/pe2-gallery]

Leave a Reply

