Day 6, Paris, September 21, 2011

4 November, 2011 - Friday

My experience this particular day was quite amusing.  At least, to me.

I’ve wanted to see the Louvre for as long as I can remember.  I was pacing around the apartment, ready to go before the tea was even fully steeped, and the sun risen.  We finally got on the Metro, and came up at the Concorde.  Greeting me was the Obelisk of Ramses II.  We walked down Rue de Rivoli (our 3rd time there) and straight to Joan of Arc, across the street from the Louvre.

 

[pe2-gallery class=”alignleft” ]

DSCN3084.JPG

Off the Metro, to the Place de la Concorde, and the Obelisk of Ramses II

DSCN3090.JPG

Joan of Arc, on Rue de Rivoli

DSCN3091.JPG

The first bit of the Louvre I saw

I looked up at the building, as I did almost every other building in Paris, and I could feel my heart just pounding.

We were ready to turn the corner, to walk on to the plaza at the Louvre, and I promptly burst into tears.  I cannot remember when I have been that emotional about being or seeing something.  I stood there with tears coming down my face, and turned to Laurie, who also started tearing up, just because I was.  I felt like I was in a slightly foggy cloud.

DSCN3092.JPG

Here is where I burst into tears

IMGP1959.JPG

And more tears..and I had to pinch myself

DSCN3099.JPG

An iconic image, yet so incredibly out of place.

DSCN3102.JPG

Nothing is left undecorated

DSCN3103.JPG

Just amazing

DSCN3105.JPG

Inside, looking up and out

DSCN3106.JPG

A bit of the inner workings

DSCN3111.JPG

My pic of Mona, from 15 feet away, with 100 people in front of me, and my camera held above my head

DSCN3114.JPG

How tiny Mona is

DSCN3116.JPG

Endless corridors filled with artworks

DSCN3128.JPG

Yes, more doors

DSCN3138.JPG

A Princely crown

DSCN3147.JPG

On and on, everything touched by art

IMGP1980.JPG

Marble & Bronze -- so freaking cool

DSCN3160.JPG

HUGE paintings

IMGP1990.JPG

Ghostly sculpture -- how did they do the veil??

IMGP1988.JPG

One of the many Ingres paintings

[/pe2-gallery]

I had a “bucket list” of things I wanted to see when I visited the Louvre.  The actual paper list I had left at home, because I thought I wouldn’t need it — I’ve had it memorized for so many years.

However, when you are overly emotional, and so freaking excited you can hardly breathe, you tend to forget which way is up, and how to walk.  Needless to say, I saw a lot of things on my list, just out of luck.  But many things were forgotten and will have to wait until my next visit.

Leave a Reply

